CrossFit Games

The CrossFit Games is a global CrossFit competition that brings together hundreds of thousands of people each year. The participants are classified by category in order to measure themselves against the others but the goal is above all to test oneself!

Qualification for the CrossFit Games is done in three stages: first the Open, then the Regionals, and finally the holy grail: the Games.

The road to the CrossFit Games begins with the World Open, the largest participatory sporting event on the planet. During the three weeks of competition, one event is posted online each Thursday, and athletes have four days to record and submit their scores. Anyone can participate in the Open – there really is no limit to participation, whether you are 14 or 84 years old, whether you are new to the sport or even if your CrossFit center is closed, you can still participate thanks to the different categories and especially this new category: No Gear!

Through the different WODs you will perform several movements: weightlifting, gymnastics, body weight, … which will allow you to identify your weaknesses. By participating in the different editions of the CrossFit Open, you will be able to compare your performance with the previous year. This will allow you to see your progress.

Simply put, the Open is an open competition that takes place all over the world. It’s a true test of fitness that highlights everything we love about CrossFit: Community, hard work, progress, records and camaraderie.

If you pass the Open qualifiers, you can take part in the Regionals, which take place over 3 weekends in May and June. Several regions are grouped together, forming 8 groups, and their best athletes compete for the 5 qualifying spots in each group for the CrossFit Games.

Once qualified, all you have to do is continue to train to be ready for the big day when the tests are announced…

This year, the CrossFit Games will take place from August 4 to 7. You can follow them live on YouTube, on the CrossFit Games.

Nunzia Koenig

Coach at
CrossFit Riviera
CrossFit Games participant and athlete at GladiatorFit:

Nunzia is participating this year in the Crossfit Games competition in the Master 50 plus category. She explains that she does not change her training to prepare for the competition but continues to follow her classic training program of five 2-hour workouts per week plus endurance training.

Regarding her diet, as a nutrition coach, Nunzia knows her needs very well and follows a healthy and balanced diet by loading more before the competition (extra carbohydrates). Finally, the crossfitter, we share aiming for a top 100 after having already reached the quarterfinals which means that she was selected among 116 athletes out of 5500 registered.

We wish good luck to all the athletes participating in these competitions and congratulate them in advance for their performances!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CrossFit Games

Les CrossFit Games est une compétition globale de CrossFit réunissant des centaines de milliers de personnes chaque année. Les participants sont classés par catégorie afin de se mesurer aux autres mais le but étant avant tout de se tester à soi-même !

La qualification pour les CrossFit Games s’effectue en trois étapes : d’abord l’Open, puis les Regionals, et enfin le saint Graal : les Games.

La route vers les CrossFit Games commence par l’Open mondial, le plus grand événement sportif participatif de la planète. Pendant les trois semaines de compétition, une épreuve est mise en ligne chaque jeudi, et les athlètes ont quatre jours pour enregistrer et soumettre leurs scores. Tout le monde peut participer à l’Open – il n’y a vraiment pas de limite de participation, que vous soyez âgés de 14 ans ou 84 ans, que vous débutez dans ce domaine sportif ou même si votre centre de CrossFit est fermé, vous pouvez toujours participer grâce aux différentes catégories et notamment cette nouvelle catégorie : No Gear !

À travers les différents WOD vous allez effectuer plusieurs mouvements : haltérophilie, gymnastique, poids du corps, … qui vous permettront de mettre le doigt sur vos faiblesses. En participant aux différentes éditions des Open de CrossFit, vous pourrez comparer votre parcours avec l’année précédente. Cela vous permettra de voir votre progression.

En termes simples, l’Open est une compétition ouverte à tous qui se déroule aux quatre coins du monde. C’est un véritable test de fitness qui met en lumière tout ce que nous aimons dans CrossFit : La communauté, le travail, le progrès, les records et la camaraderie.

Si vous passez les qualifications de l’Open, vous pouvez prendre part aux Régionals, qui se déroules sur 3 weekends en mai et juin. Plusieurs régions sont regroupées, formant ainsi 8 groupes, et leurs meilleurs athlètes se disputent les 5 places qualificatives de chaque groupe pour les CrossFit Games.

Et voilà, une fois qualifié, il n’y a plus qu’à continuer encore et toujours de s’entraîner pour être prêt le jour J à l’annonce des épreuves…

Cette année, les CrossFit Games se déroulera du 4 au 7 août. Vous pouvez les suivre en direct sur YouTube, sur la chaîne des CrossFit Games.

Nunzia Koenig

Coach chez CrossFit Riviera, participante aux CrossFit Games ainsi que athlète chez GladiatorFit :

Nunzia participe cette année à la compétition Crossfit Games dans la catégorie master 50 plus. Elle explique ne pas changer ses entrainements pour se préparer à la compétition mais elle continue à suivre son programme d’entrainement classique de 5 entrainements de 2h par semaine plus un entrainement endurance.

Concernant son alimentation, en tant que coach nutrition, Nunzia connait très bien ses besoins et suit un régime sain et équilibré en chargeant davantage avant la compétition (apports supplémentaires en glucides). Finalement, la crossfiteuse, nous partage viser un top 100 après avoir déjà atteint les quarts de final ce qui signifie qu’elle a été sélectionnée parmi 116 athlètes sur 5500 inscrits.

Nous souhaitons bonne chance à tous les athlètes qui participent à ces compétitions et les félicitions d’avance pour les performances !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.